Directors JAM is a day-long workshop, performance, and celebration in which six directors each devise a short piece with professional actors, using ingredients that were provided to them in advance. This year, May 2017, DG is taking a cue from Rising Circles’ values and hosting the JAM for directors of color.

0IMG_0289-2Creator: Pirronne Yousefzadeh is a Brooklyn based director. Recent projects include Utopia Minnesota by Meg Miroshnik (2016 Sagal Fellowship, Williamstown Theatre Festival), That High Lonesome Sound (Actors Theatre of Louisville; 2015 Humana Festival) and We Are Proud To Present A Presentation… by Jackie Sibblies Drury (InterAct Theatre Company). Her productions of The Dangerous House of Pretty Mbane by Jen Silverman (InterAct Theater Company) and In The Blood (Theatre Horizon) together received a total of fifteen Barrymore Award nominations, including Outstanding Direction and Outstanding Overall Production for both. And If You Lose Your Way, or A Food Odyssey (Invisible Dog) received nominations for Outstanding Ensemble and Outstanding Performance Art Production from New York Innovative Theatre Awards. 

She has directed and developed work at The Public/Joe’s Pub, New York Theatre Workshop, Ars Nova, Soho Rep, Playwrights Horizons, Atlantic Theater Company, Ma-Yi Theater Company, Rising Circle Theater Collective, The Woodshed Collective (The Tenant: Best of 2011, The L Magazine), Partial Comfort Productions, Noor Theatre, Rising Phoenix Rep, HERE Arts Center, New York Musical Theatre Festival, Ensemble Studio Theatre, The Wild Project, Dixon Place, The Living Theatre, The Lark Play Development Center, New Dramatists, The Juilliard School, Williamstown Theatre Festival, Actors Theatre of Louisville, Cleveland Playhouse, La Jolla Playhouse, Geva Theatre Center, Huntington Theatre Company, Two River Theater Company, Milwaukee Rep, InterAct Theatre Company, On The Boards, Perseverance Theatre, Berkshire Fringe Festival, Walnut Street Theatre, Philadelphia Shakespeare Theatre, and Hangar Theatre, where she was a 2006 Drama League Directing Fellow.

Participating Directors:

Cat Ramirez 


Carlos Roa


Allen Clark


Christina May


Iraisa Ann Reilly


Cheyenne Barboza


Directors JAM Staff:

(DG) Founder & Executive Director: Jill Harrison
Producer: Jack Tamburri
JAM Production Manager: Madeline Charne
(DG) Production Manager: Tom Snyder
Communications: Ben Smallen and Caitlin O’Malley 
Production Associate: Peter Lokitis

Rehearsal Assistants:

Marcus Barainyak
Nick Hatcher
Paige Klaniecki
Sabrina Alegria
Satchell Williams

Special Thanks to Our Partners:
The Bok School
Taste the Difference Catering
Vynecrest Vineyards
Daniel Kontz Design & Photography

Directors & their Groups (below in alphabetical order)

Cat Ramirez
Becca Jackson
Kaelem Von Camper
Kyle Jackson
Amy Boehly

Carlos Roa
Peter Danzig
Dana Kreitz

Allen Clark
Jon Diaz
Donovan Lockett
Ariana Sepulveda
Abdul Sesay
Xander Rioh

Christina May
Doug Greene
Emily Johnson
Carlo Campbell
Jarrett McCreary
April Rose Davis

Iraisa Ann Reilly
Amber Orion
Kishia Nixon
Arnaldo Carrasquillo

Cheyenne Barboza
Macy Jae Davis
Claris Park
Terrie Goins
Amira Davis